Hidden away in a picturesque courtyard in the heart of the city is something very special. The Palazzo Muto-Berardi-Cesi, which lies on Via del Gesu, is home to one of Rome's two surviving water-clocks. The clock, which dates back to 1882, is the centrepiece of a charming Baroque fountain.
A water-clock (also known as a clepsydra, a Greek word meaning water-thief) refers to any chronometer in which time is measured by the regulated flow of liquid into, or out of, a container.
Rome's other (and slightly older) clepsydra can be found on the Pincio hill and also forms part of a fountain. It was built in 1873 by Giovanni Battista Embriaco, a Dominican priest and scientist.
Embriaco's clock fell into disrepair in the early part of the 20th century, but was restored a few years ago to great acclaim.